top of page


BUILT in 1904
  • 2600 Sq Ft
  • Retail & Second Floor Office
  • Full Basement
  • Rear Second Storefront
  • Colonial Front
  • Historic District
  • Excellent Visibility & Signage
The Commerce Building

Today it is home to Webster Groves Book Shop and the corporate offices of Switzer Candy Company.

The Webster Groves Book Shop has now reopened in this historic building and is a real asset to the Old Webster shopping district. Here is a interview with the new owner, Cherly Bartnett on KTRS Radio about the reopening ... Click hear!


It is unique in its cornice pediment, two oriel windows on the front and stone sills under all the second story windows. It most likely originally had a traditional storefront with doors set back into the front but this was remodeled into a colonial style in the 1950s.


This two-story brick vernacular building was built in 1904. It was built as the Commerce Building and housed many one-person offices on the second floor. Early merchants included Western Union Telegraph Company, the original Rudolph Dry Goods Store, Belcher Typewriter Service and Reed Audio Visual. Recent merchants include The LoveJoy Society, Upstairs Handmades and Bella Market.

In 1911 it was the Honey Bee Confections & Soda Fountain. In 1918 it was Brennan's Grocery Store then in 1925 Kohn Grocery Store. In 1926 Rudolph Shoe and Dry Goods opened and remained here until 1946. In 1947 Eaves Adding Machines and Typewriter Service opened and by 1952 it had changed to Belcher Typewriter Service. In 1964 the Webster Groves Chamber of Commerce was located here.


Originally the building did not include the second store-front on the alley side of the building. This appears to have been added as a separate two-story building adjoining the front portion. There appears to also have been a large loading door on the alley side that is now bricked in.

bottom of page